Prof. Connie Chang-Hasnain (UC Berkeley) has been selected as one of the new National Security Science and Engineering Fellows.
This is a very prestigious recognition, honoring 8 distinguished scientists and engineers in its inaugural round. Selected from over 350 applicants from all fields of sciences and engineering, the eight researchers from the first NSSEFF
competition "are expected to make considerable discoveries in the core
science and engineering disciplines underpinning the technology of future
DoD systems".
"Every NSSEFF award--up to $3 million in total direct research support for
up to five years--provides DoD with top-tier researchers from U.S.
universities, each conducting long-term, unclassified, basic research on
challenging technical problems of strategic national security importance,"
said William Rees, Jr., deputy under secretary of defense for laboratories
and basic sciences. "It also affords significant opportunities for Fellows
to contribute to research programs within the DoD laboratories."

November 07, 2008

Additional information on the NSSEFF is available online at .


Xiaoxue Zhao wins the 2007-08 Leon Chua Award.
The Leon Chua award is presented to a graduate student or undergraduate
student or recent alumnus for outstanding research in the area of nonlinear
science.  The award was made possible by a donation from a former student of Professor Chua, Professor S.M. Kang, when he was Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign.  In January 2001, Dr. Kang was named Dean of the Jack
Baskin School of Engineering at the University of California at Santa Cruz.
Since March 2007, Prof. Kang is the Chancellor of the University of
California, Merced.
Please attend the Department's Student Awards Ceremony at 3:00 p.m. on
Friday, May 9th in the Hewlett-Packard Auditorium, room 306 Soda Hall, where
Wendy will receive recognition for the award.  A reception will follow in
the Wozniak Lounge, room 430-438 Soda Hall.

M.C.Y. Huang  Huang & Ye Mervin Zhou won the 65th Annual Device
Research Conference, 2007
One Best Student Paper Awards is selected at each DRC. Papers that are based on the independent research of the graduate student who is presenting the work are eligible for the Best Student Paper Award.  The award is made based on the quality of the written abstract and the oral or poster presentation.
The awardee will be presented with a certificate and monetary award check at
the 66th Annual Device Research Conference, June 23-25, 2008.
Xiaoxue Zhao received B.U. Chen Memorial Scholarship given by the
Photonic Society of Chinese Americans, 2008.
Ye Zhou and M.C.Y. Huang won the Best Student Paper, Optical Society of America Frontiers in Optics Conference, 2007                       Ye Zhou, M.C.Y. Huang and C.J. Chang-Hasnain, "Very Large Fabrication Tolerance of VCSELs Using High-Contrast Subwavelength Grating," Frontiers in Optics Conference, San Jose, CA, 17-20 September 2007.
Bala Pesala, Best Paper of Topical Meeting, OSA, 2007.
Bala Pesala, Forrest G. Sedgwick, Alexander V. Uskov, Connie Chang-Hasnain,
Tony H. Lin, "THz Tunable Slow Light and Fast Light of Ultrashort Pulses in
Semiconductor Optical Amplifiers", OSA Topical Meeting on Slow and Fast
light, Salt Lake City, Utah, 8-11 July 2007.


International Nano-Opto Workshop 2012 (iNOW)  at Berkeley and Stanford, USA, August 8-August 14, 2012
International Nano-Opto Workshop 2011 (iNOW)  at St. Petersburg, Russia and Würzburg, Germany, July 24-August 6, 2011
International Nano-Opto Workshop 2010 (iNOW)  at Beijing and Changchun, China, August  1-15, 2010
International Nano-Opto Workshop 2009 (iNOW)  at Stockholm, Sweden and Berlin, Germany, August  2-15, 2009
International Nano-Opto Workshop 2008 (iNOW)  at Lake Saiko and Shonan Village, Japan, August  2-15, 2008
iNOW 2008 Award Photos
iNOW 2007 Award Photos
SHARP Summer High-School Apprenticeship Research Program (SHARP), June 18 - July 13, 2007 Download SHARP 2007 Talks ( PDF Files).
Optical Society of America Honors Connie J. Chang-Hasnain WASHINGTON, June 20—Connie J. Chang-Hasnain has been chosen as the Nick Holonyak, Jr. Award winner by the Optical Society of America (OSA), honoring her contributions to the control of diode lasers: vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser arrays, injection locking, and slow light.  read more...
The research work of Prof. Connie Chang-Hasnain and her grad students were featured in a KGO 7 news article titled “Berkeley Scientists Makes Major Laser Breakthrough--Could Make HD DVD's Cheaper." They have found a way to make a better mirror that can improve the performance of lasers, and may usher in an era of new products.
OSA focal point with INOW 2007 report.
CONSRT Nano-Opto Workshop (NOW 2006) at  Berkeley.   Download CONSRT NOW 2006 Talks ( PDF Files).      
Photographs from the 2nd  Nano-Opto Workshop (NOW 2006) helded on August 13-18 2006 at Berkeley California: 1. Photo gallery   2. Download all photo
Photographs from the 1st Nano-Opto Workshop helded on August 21-23 2005 at Berkeley California      see group photo ...  
Special seminar announcement: T.echnologies in L.ightwave Jamboree: an one-day Jamboree will be held on the UC Berkeley campus on August 13th to celebrate “Technologies in Lightwave” which happens to occur just a few short weeks after the 75th birthday of Dr. Tingye Li. CONSRT would like to pay tribute to Dr. Li ‘s multi-faceted contributions to the filed of optical communications and, in particular, to his selfless mentoring of young scientists and companies.
Nobel Lecture Series: Professor Zhores Alferov, Nobel Laureate of Physics Prize in 2000, delivered four outstanding lectures at UC Berkeley (April 8, 11 and 15, 2005). read more...
Professor Connie Chang-Hasnain has been selected to be one of 4 recipients of the Lillian M. Gilbreth Lectures by Young Engineers. read more...

Professor Connie Chang-Hasnain has been elected as an honorary member of the A. F. Ioffe Institute in St. Petersburg. read more...



Program Highlights

BOSS Seminar Series



Copyright © 2004-2007 CONSRT    All Rights Reserved.